Press Release

Press Release: You Are The Everything

From an award-winning author comes an emotional young adult novel about the romance between two survivors of a plane crash.

 

 You Are the Everything cover.jpg

You Are the Everything

By Karen Rivers

 

When Elyse Schmidt and her not-so-secret crush, Josh Harris, are the sole survivors of a plane crash, tragedy binds them together. They become superstars in today’s social media-driven world, and they move with their families to the wide open spaces of Wyoming for a chance to live their lives quietly, together. It’s as if their love story is meant to be. Everything is perfect, or as perfect as it can be when you’ve literally fallen out of the sky and landed hard on the side of a mountain—until suddenly it isn’t. Elyse’s whole world begins to unravel, culminating in a shocking conclusion that will have readers flipping back through the pages to reread this incredible story.

 

 “This is good choice for those who enjoyed E. Lockhart’s We Were Liars or books with pieces that only fit together after a surprising ending. Fans of unreliable narrators and twist endings will clamor for this story of romance and survival.”

School Library Journal, starred review

“Well written and emotionally resonant, this is an unusual and poignant story.”

Kirkus Reviews

 “A haunting, heartbreaking puzzle box of a book.”

—Elana K. Arnold, author of National Book Award finalist What Girls Are Made Of

Karen Rivers, one of Algonquin Young Readers’ most well reviewed and popular middle-grade authors, has been celebrated for her “star-bright stor[ies] of love, courage, and unflagging spirit” (Booklist) and for writing that “doesn’t shy away from the dark places but explores them with heart, humor, and light” (author Kate Messner). Now Rivers’s brilliant signature voice and narrative style are on full display in her first young adult novel for Algonquin. You Are the Everything (publication date: October 30, 2018; $17.95 hardcover) explores love and loss, dreams realized and unrealized, and how one’s life can change in a single moment—refracted through the unique lens of her inimitable protagonist, the funny, sensitive, artistic heroine Elyse.

 

You Are the Everything effortlessly blends tragedy and hope to create a stunning, urgent page-turner about love and fate that is perfect for readers of We Were Liars, All the Bright Places, and Since You’ve Been Gone. A starred School Library Journal review agrees that “fans of unreliable narrators and twist endings will clamor for this story”. Like her previous work, Rivers’s writing is lyrical and her storytelling is masterful, drawing readers in until the heartbreaking last pages.

 

karen riversKaren Rivers is the author of twenty-one novels for children, teens, and adults, including the highly praised The Girl in the Well Is Me, All That Was, Before We Go Extinct and A Possibility of Whales. She lives in British Columbia, Canada. Find her online at karenrivers.com or on Twitter @karenrivers.

www.karenrivers.com   |  Twitter: @karenrivers |

Instagram: @karenrivers

 

 

You Are the Everything by Karen Rivers

Algonquin Young Readers / Publication Date: October 30, 2018

Price: $17.95; Hardcover; 272 pages; ISBN: 9781616208158

www.algonquinyoungreaders.com | karenrivers.com

Follow Algonquin Young Readers on Twitter @algonquinyr or on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/algonquinyoungreaders

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s